An Average of 552 Words a Day is Actually Not So Bad

November 2010 marked my first foray into the world of frenetic, “seat-of-your-pants” fiction writing. It also marks my semi-triumphant return to fiction writing in general, after a few years hiatus spent writing reviews, starting a library Master’s, and allowing my waning fictional inspiration to percolate a bit.

I didn’t undertake the goal of National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), which is to write 50,000 words, or 175 pages, in one month. Rather, I wanted to use the structure of the contest to challenge myself to think about and make time for more creatively-inclined writing again. November was a particularly busy month for me–I won’t bore you with the details, but trust me–so it seemed like a particularly appropriate time to undertake this challenge. If I can make time for writing fiction in the midst of a fairly chaotic schedule of obligations, deadlines, holidays, and social events, I should be able to make time for it always.

The result? 17,090 words in 30 days, or one non-fiction travel essay and the start of a Clue-inspired mystery set in Red Hook, Brooklyn. It didn’t make the official goal by half, and I fell short of the more modest goal of 20,000 words that I set for myself, and yet, I’m feeling pretty good about it.

And a big, super-duper shout out to my “not-really-a-writer” friend of friends in AZ, who not only met the daily quota, but exceeded the 50K word goal. Consider yourself an authoress, Lulu!


Leave a Reply

